Have I told you about Carly?

We have a young rider named Carly.  She’s 14 years old this summer, lives in Sundre, and she is so many wonderful things.  Carly is a good horsewoman, an athlete, a lovely mix of gentleness, determination and dedication … and Carly has a social conscience to boot.  It doesn’t hurt that she’s cute as a button either!

Carly rode with us last year, and decided she wanted to ride again this year, only this year she’d like to bring a friend or two.  Her friends didn’t know how they would ever come up with the $200/day though, so they weren’t nearly as excited as Carly about the prospect of attending.  They did not count on Carly’s ingenuity and determination.  Carly decided that she would have a bake sale to raise money for her and her friends to ride.  Carly and her mom, Karen, baked a lot of pink stuff and Carly arranged to have a table at the local Sobey’s store.

Carly raised $1,100 … which does not include the $550 she already raised in pledges herself and the $25 that is in her on-line pledge account!

So Carly now has $1,675!

If I can figure out how to change the photos Carly’s mom sent me into something that will print here, I’ll add the pics later.

5 thoughts on “Have I told you about Carly?

  1. Seems like most of the publicity the kids garner these days is negative but we don’t hear often enough about the positive things they do, like Miss Carly’s obvious dedication to the WPY cause. Way to go Carly – you’re an inspiration for your peers, not to mention us somewhat older folk.

    Like

  2. I hope you get to meet Carly, Donna. You will love her. She’s cute and bright and kind. The only thing wrong with her is that her legs come up to about my boobs, and I’m jealous as hell! *grin*

    Like

  3. But Carly … you’re just a young filly yet. You’re going to grow more … and those long legs of yours are going to get even longer! I, on the other hand, have short little elephant stump legs, and the only way they’re getting longer is if I wear high heels.

    I am green with jealousy, kiddo.

    Like

Leave a comment