The thoroughly modern way to preg check your mare. *giggle. snort.*

Do you remember young Farren from the 2010 ride?  I just heard from her and she may not be able to bring the horse she wanted to bring on the 2011 ride because said horse MIGHT be pregnant.  Here’s the story.

Farren’s neighbour is a cowboy.  Or maybe not.  Maybe he’s a cowboy wannabe, because a REAL cowboy would NOT purchase a massive blue roan stud horse and park it across the fence from three mares.  But this cowboy did.  So, of course, in typical massive blue roan stud fashion, the new boy broke down the fence and went to play with Farren’s three mares.  Fortunately, nobody got hurt.  Hopefully, everybody had a good time canoodling.  Everybody SEEMED content — except Farren, who didn’t much like the idea of her favourite trail horse being out of commission for Wild Pink Yonder.

This is where it gets good.  Someone told Farren that a HUMAN pregnancy test kit would work on her mare so Farren would have the good/bad news early. Farren dutifully trots off to the local pharmacy, where I’m suuuuuuuure they hear some version of Farren’s story on a regular basis.  *grin*  She purchases the preggo kit and runs home.  It isn’t ’til her mother asks, “Okay, Farren, how are you going to get your mare to pee on the stick?” that Farren stops to think this thing through.

Bottom line:  we still don’t know.  The mare doesn’t seem to like to pee in public, but the vet is coming out next month, so maybe we’ll find out then.

Ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha!  Farren, we love you, and if you have to bring a different horse, ah well!  Just think of the massive, beautiful foal you’re likely to have!

3 thoughts on “The thoroughly modern way to preg check your mare. *giggle. snort.*

  1. Well I have news on the ‘peeing of the stick’.
    Today I’m in my barn mucking stalls. I am postioned behind a big square straw bale, and I have the test in my pocket waiting to be peed on.
    Low and behold, Josie starts to pee. It took me about 5 seconds to realize “OMG SHE’S PEEING” and then I’m attempting to scramble my little behind over this bale. By the time I got there she was already done peeing and the straw on the floor had already absorbded it.
    Needless to say, Josie looked at me like I was crazy when I began jumping up and down throwing a fit because I missed her peeing.

    Damn.

    Like

Leave a comment