Oh, my! Oh, my! I don’t know whether to giggle or cry!

(That would be a cry of joy!)  This just in from Pinkster Farren who rode with us last year and will join us again this year.

I was in the Crowsnest Pass this past week camping and I saw things that put a huge smile on my face and tears in my eyes.

I was driving down the strip (what we call main street downtown) and they have old fashioned lamp posts all down the steet. Hanging from every lamp post, was a pink wind sock with a breast cancer ribbon and crow spray painted on it.  There were wind socks everywhere.  On every lamp post. On many peoples’ trees. On power lines. Everywhere. All the stores have pink ribbons in their windows.  I saw bras hanging from door ways and Pinkest Little Town signs everywhere. They were really pinked up.

We have an event called Thunder in the Valley where there is a carnival and events all weekend, and an hour long fire work show that makes the valley rumble to end it. The population of the Crowsnest Pass is between 6 and 7 thousand people. During this weekend, there are between 60 and 80 thousand people. On Saturday, they had a parade for this event, and in it was a giant float for Pinkest Little town, and they collected donations from the many thousands of people attending. I was overjoyed and proud of Southern Alberta and wanted to share this with you. I kinda wish I woulda got a picture, but I’m a genius and left my camera at the campsite.

I made a point to tell people I was attending the ride again this year and I explained to them what exactly we did and what it was like. I gave out the website to some of the cowboys and girls that I met while chatting. At one point I had a whole group of people standing around me listening to me explain what WPY was. I’m hoping I encouraged a few more pople to at least check out the website, or donate to our cause or hopefully join us.

I hope this brought a smile to your face. I know when I saw it all I sure smiled.

Can we ask for more than that?  Nooooooooo, I don’t think so.  I can hardly wait to see the Crowsnest Pass!  Thanks for that report, Farren.  If anyone else has seen anything interesting, please let me know and I’ll post it here.

Leave a Reply

