Your guess is as good as mine! I don’t have a hot clue why Longview calls their rodeo …

Little New York Daze, but they do!  (I’m sure there’s either a very reasonable or a very outrageous reason for the name.  Anybody know?)

So anyway, they partied and played to their hearts content last weekend.  Little New York Daze is a rodeo festival in Longview.  It’s complete with a parade, family activities, pancake breakfast, live action rodeo, show and shine and beer garden!  I wish I could have been there.  (I think I could quite easily LIVE there!  Beautiful little place!)

And look what showed up in the Little New York Daze parade!  Go, Longview!

2 thoughts on “Your guess is as good as mine! I don’t have a hot clue why Longview calls their rodeo …

  1. In the oil boom back in the late 30’s eqarly 40’s, Longview and Royalties (just a post offfice now I think! ) were called Little New York and Little Chicago – workers flocked in to work in the oilpatch and the towns just flurished. My Dad worked in the oilpatch and we lived in Longview when I was born! When I was two, my Dad being a true blue “cowboy” left the “big money” to work the D Ranch owned by Cartwright andThorpe. He stayed with the Ranch for 24 years and the last ranch we lived at was the Princeof Wales Ranch which Cartwrights bought in 1961. Hope that answers your question!!

    Like

Leave a Reply

