Judging of the Pinkest Little Town in the West

When I first came up with the idea of Pinkest Little Town in the West, I was really excited. I fully admit that it was somewhat of a take-off from Kraft’s “Hockeyville” (though I didn’t realize it at the time). I thought it was unique and I was pretty sure it would be a winner. I approached UFA to sponsor it in 2010, and the following year, Big Valley Jamboree. After I laid out the concept to them, much to my surprise, they both declined … and then within a year each came up with their own version of it! (“Small Town Heroes” for UFA and “Small Town Saturday Night” for BVJ, though neither has a charitable component to them.) If that saying, “imitation is the highest form of flattery” is true, then Kraft Canada should be flattered by us … and we are flattered by UFA and BVJ!

I wanted the Pinkest Little Town in the West to be fun; but it also had to raise money for breast cancer research. Otherwise, what would be the point? I settled on a combination point system: 50% points for pinkness and 50% points for money raised. Fun — and charitable. I soon realized that the contest was skewed toward smaller towns because it’s easier for them to “pinkify”. Also, the bigger the population, the more difficult it is to have a high per capita dollar amount. On the other hand, the larger towns have the potential for raising more money (though it has never worked out that way).

And so, towns are judged like this:

  • 50% of their total is for pinkification. (A “perfectly pink” town would score 30.)
  • 30% is for their dollar/capita.
  • 20% is for their overall monies raised.

I turned the concept over to another of my very clever stepsons. This one has a degree in business and another in law so I figured it would be easy-peasy for him. “I need a formula, Michael.” His first response? “Jane, you can’t average apples and oranges!” but as he worked away at it, eventually he came up with a means to “weight” these different entities and it’s a formula we’ve used for years now.

So, these are the numbers for the top four in each category.

Pinkification                            Per Capita                               Total Raised

Carmangay 27                            Innisfree $44.65                      Innisfree $9,823

Stirling 25                                    Carmangay $32.95                  Carmangay $8,632

Innisfree 24                                Arrowwood $25.68                 Stirling $6,000

Arrowwood 21                            Donalda $13.21                        Arrowwood $4,827

Then you apply Michael’s magic formula and the top four towns are:

  1. Innisfree – total score 1.63065
  2. Carmangay – total score 1.462215
  3. Arrowwood – total score 1.130417
  4. Stirling – total score 0.806931

Congratulations, Innisfree. You are the Pinkest Little Town in the West 2016. Well played!

I’ve mentioned it before. Though Arrowwood, Donalda, Stirling and Carmangay didn’t win the contest, in the long run, we all win because CRINA will use our “pink money” to find new ways to attack breast cancer.

The next you’ll be hearing from me on this topic will be to advise when Innisfree will have its concert. I hope to see many of you there.

Leave a Reply

